thanks-giving

Today is Thanksgiving. In an hour or so I’m getting in the car and driving to northern Indiana for a traditional turkey feast. Going with me are the parts of my world that I’m most thankful for: my husband and my two children.

Ask me what I really need, what I could not do without, and I’ll answer without hesitation: my husband. We’ve been married nearly 19 years, and along with all the happy times he has seen me through depression, and the illness and death of my father. We’ve worked each other through college, built a house, and made two marvelous offspring. We’ve never shouted at each other; and we’ve never gone to bed angry. He relieves my most stressful days and gives me my greatest happiness.

Today’s holiday is about being thankful — but every day, not just today, I’m thankful for the fortunate chance that brought us together.

4 responses to “thanks-giving

  1. What a fabulous, wonderful tribute. (Raising an imaginary glass of something non-alcoholic, that a good Baptist, or even a bad one, might drink.) Here’s to 19 more years! – Tim

  2. God bless you both and your thankfulness is a tribute to us all.

  3. Tim and Blu, thanks for your kind comments. We had a very nice Thanksgiving, and I hope you did, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Such a sweet way to bless and honor your husband and all the blessings in your life! I’ll second that Gooch toast. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

