time flies

Today is my 19th anniversary. Where did all that time go? I’m very fortunate in that they’ve been extremely happy years (other than a few downturns caused by unavoidable life events). But — almost two decades! Whoa! It truly doesn’t feel like it’s been anywhere near that long. https://i2.wp.com/www.pennymichelle.com/productpics/charms/timeflies_sml.jpg

How is it possible that my daughter will start taking driver’s ed in a month or so, and have her license all too soon?

How does my 11-year-old son have the right to suddenly be taller than his mom and wearing his dad’s blue jeans?

And, of course, how come if I still feel 23 inside (well, OK, not 23, but maybe 33), I don’t get to keep looking that way outside, too? 😀

It’s a wonderful day, even better than 19 years ago. Tonight I’m having dinner at a new and very eclectic restaurant and then going on a drive to look at Christmas lights. My family’s winter vacation starts at the end of this school day, and Christmas is just around the corner. Life is good.

3 responses to “time flies

  1. Happy Anniversary, Tiffany!! I hope you enjoyed Proof on Main! A very special guy took me there for my birthday and it’s the perfect place for a celebration!!

  2. Tiffany,
    Happy Anniversary! Enjoy your special day!

  3. Time is strange. Waiting for a delayed train or being woken up every night by a newborn and time seems to stand still. Reach a reflection point (anniversary, birthday, etc.) and you wonder where all that time went.

    My son took me out to dinner the other night. I remembered the plump little doll in a blue romper suit. Today he is a middle-aged man, a professor in one of Britain’s top universities and a scientist of international renown. When I hugged him goodbye, I wondered where all that time had gone but felt immensely grateful that I had been able to see thus far into the story of his life.

    Email SilverTiger

Leave a Reply

