a quarter of a different color

https://i0.wp.com/www.erha.org/erhastore/images/quarter.jpgAs I do pretty much every day, I just went to Circle K (a gas station / convenience store) for Polar Pops (the Polar Pop Diet Pepsi over just a little cubed ice: a necessity of life). My change consisted of three quarters. When the clerk handed them to me, they sounded different — more, well, clinky than usual. Higher-pitched.

Upon examination, I found that one of the three quarters is dated 1961. It’s a lighter silver color that the other two quarters, and from the side it’s all silver instead of silver/copper. When I drop it onto the table, the note it plays is a third higher than that produced by the newer coins. (Not a music geek? Think the notes of “three” and “mice” in “three blind mice.”)

Someone numismatic expert, please save me from figuring out the right search terms for Google, and explain the difference.

8 responses to “a quarter of a different color

  1. I think those are silver quarters, whereas the newer ones — from 1965 — are nickel-clad with a copper core.

    Wikipedia has a good entry on this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quarter_%28U.S._coin%29

  2. Cool! Looks like it might be worth $10 (maybe more). Not a bad return for a 59-cent soft drink. πŸ™‚

  3. Your curious nature is paying off!

  4. Those Polar Pops are even better now!

  5. While I was working at the bookshop, they installed door alarms and tagged all the books with magnetic tags to prevent theft. (It didn’t work: the first week whenever the alarms went off, staff would rush to the door; after that they just ignored the alarms.)

    To neutralize the tags, there was a big demagnetizer plate on the counter. During slack times we found we could have fun magnetizing keys, building sculptures out of paper clips, stopping people’s watches – you know, all the serious stuff booksellers get up to.

    Someone suggested putting a (UK) penny on the pad. “No good,” I said, “they are copper and don’t stick to magnets.” I was surprised and somewhat appalled to find that they did. The government had debased the currency!

    One day when I was working at the library somebody paid a fine with copper coins and when she had gone I realized there was a farthing among the money. (Farthings, worth a quarter of an old penny, haven’t been in circulation since about the 1940s.) We looked it up in the numismatic reference books and found it was worth 70p but, being honest librarians, we put it in the till. As the farthing was almost exactly the size of a modern penny, I doubt whether anyone noticed it and I expect it’s still going around out there.

    Email SilverTiger

  6. I’m gonna say that Mountain Dew polar pops are vastly superior to the Diet Pepsi.

    zack
    http://mammals.wordpress.com

  7. Me, my wife Becky, and my two children Ben and Yambech we nt to the Circle K today and got four polarpops. A Coke for me, a Pepsi for Becky, a Sierra Mist for Ben, and another Coke for Yambech.

Leave a Reply

