fire

sitting on the floor
a few feet from
new bright flames

sparks
        burst
        outward
    tiny orange fireworks

gentle
crackle
    hiss

dancing light
glows
warm

we read;
dogs sprawl nearby;
cats drape the furniture.

this is what it is to be
        content.

6 responses to “fire

  1. Hello more than the sum

    I liked your poem – great imagery – but the reason I’m writing is something else.

    I’m really struggling to get mypoems reflected on my site the way I’d like them to look stylistically. I can’t even seperate the stanzas. What am I doing wrong?

  2. Naughty Heather

    Ahhhhh. Sounds wonderful.

  3. this was/is a great poem with great imagery. you know i write poems too right? if not, check out
    http://thesaphyreloung.blogspot.com…shameless plug i know.

    all the same, this made me feel like i was right there with you…can i come over sometime? 😉

  4. i’ll correct the link as i didn’t realize shameless was gonna become a part of it

    http://thesaphyrelounge.blogspot.com

  5. Blu, I know that at some point I’d been to your poetry site, but it’s been a while. Thanks for the reminder.

    There are a lot of people I’ve met on blogs that I wish I could have over for an evening. What a great dinner party that would be!

  6. Tiffany,
    Your poem draws a very wonderful picture of warmth!

Leave a Reply

