Frankensenator in 2008

https://i1.wp.com/www.moveleft.com/moveleft/images/al_franken_suit_and_tie.jpgI’d give a lot to be living in Minnesota in November 2008, just so I’d have the opportunity to vote for Al Franken. He’s wrapping up his uber-cool, uber-liberal radio show on Valentine’s Day, but he’s put out the word that he’ll be going after Republican Sen. Norm Coleman’s seat next year.

Here’s a bit from the full article at Capitol Hill Blue:

Franken expects his years in New York to be an issue in the campaign but has had a ready line as he promotes himself to Minnesota audiences: “If I do run against Norm Coleman in ‘08, I’ll be the only New York Jew in the race who actually grew up in Minnesota.”

Coleman grew up in New York and moved to Minnesota as an adult.

After eight years of Bush-induced horror, it would be just too fun to have a comedian sworn into office.

And hey, he even has his own Midwest Values PAC, which, in addition to raising money for progressive candidates, is “establishing and maintaining an active online presence designed to build a passionate, knowledgeable, and well-organized community of progressives in the Upper Midwest.” I’m sort of in the Lower Midwest, but my family comes from the Upper Midwest, and I can do a damn good Minnesota accent, so I’m sure Al won’t mind if I join.

5 responses to “Frankensenator in 2008

  1. I love Al Franken. He was actually my dad’s year in college, and for one of the reunions a few years ago, Franken was the MC for the whole thing…basically just did standup the entire time. Hilarious.

  2. Funny – just what we need another joker in politics, ha.

  3. Ben, what a great break from the usual reunion speeches and entertainment! Your dad picked a great year to graduate. What school?

    tobeme, I know, I know, we’ve got enough black humor in Washington. But at least his sound bites would be more fun than we’re used to these days!

  4. ’73. Also among his classmates was James “JB” Brown, the Fox NFL analyst who, as far as I know, never played a game of college football, but was a basketball star instead.

  5. Oops, I’ve been studying too much…thought you asked what year. He went to one of those hoity-toity ones in Cambridge, Mass. that no one’s ever heard of.

Leave a Reply

