irony

You may have noticed that I’m a Democrat. So is my husband. Our cars are plastered with stickers promoting liberal causes. What we think of President Bush, his war, and his policies is mostly unprintable. Among other things, my husband, who is president of the local teachers’ association, despises W’s “No Child Left Behind” education plan.

Now, guess who’s coming to town on Friday and speaking at one of the elementary schools in our school system, to promote NCLB? And guess who’s been invited to attend the event, to represent local teachers?

I wish I respected W even slightly, so I could be excited about the prospect of being married to someone who may very well be personally introduced to the POTUS. I wish I wanted to be there and wanted to take my kids to maybe see W enter or leave the building. Instead, I feel only the irony that my husband, who disagrees completely with NCLB’s approach to public education, is being asked to represent 600+ teachers, most of whom also disagree with NCLB, at an event that promotes the plan’s supposed success.

Of all the presidents… why does he have to be the one to come to town?

10 responses to “irony

  1. Well that is certainly all of the negative aspects.
    Just because you disagree with the man, doesn’t mean you can’t show respect for the office.

    And about NCLB, I don’t agree with it either, this is a democracy. You and your husband should voice your oppinions, only in a way that is respectful.

    Disagreement with policies is no reason to hate a man. You do not know him personally, and nither do I. I hear too many people saying they hate Bush, but when I ask them why, they will start reading off policies that he or his administration has implemented.

    My point is you can disagree with a man, but you should not hate him… Especially if you do not know him…

  2. Knight, thanks for stopping and leaving a comment. I absolutely respect the office. However, I have no respect at all for the man who’s currently in it. Among other things, he shows no respect for the American people; his presidency is based on his (and Dick Cheney’s) personal agenda. I wouldn’t say that I hate him personally, although from everything I’ve heard and read, he’s very far from being the sort of person I’d ever be friends with. However, I despise what he has done to our country and his disregard for the good of the people.

  3. This is ironic as you said. We don’t always like or respect who is in office. This is part of the process. If you husband or you have an opportunity to voice your opionion they you shoud do it with respect to the office. If the only way you can demonstrate your opioion is by not showing, then that is a way also.

  4. It sounds like an incredible opportunity to let people know all that is wrong with NCLB. Perhaps your husband should let the local media know (1) that the Bush administration has, by virtue of its invitation, recognized his authority with respect to NCLB, and (2) that he will be happy to grant the media an interview in conjunction with the Bush appearance.

    I do, however, understand your ambivalence. I had what I suspect are similar feelings some years back when I found myself in a small group speaking with Antonin Scalia. Why him???

  5. Do you happen to know whether the president plans to read the kids a book about a goat?

  6. Lets see, do I hate Bush? Better make a list:

    Gave lots of tax cuts to rich people
    9-11 intelligence failures
    WMD intelligence debacle and Iraq War
    Wiretapping without a court order
    Veterans military benefits cut
    Lack of body armor in Iraq
    Trashing of global alliances
    Weakened the Geneva Convention by allowing torture
    Give billions in contracts to Haliburton – no bidding
    Weakened FEMA thus Katrina
    Randomly “lost” 12 Billion in Iraq
    Created the largest federal budget deficit in U.S. history
    Allowed the Assault Weapons ban to discontinue
    Encouraged business to the great determent of the environment, endangered species and the future of all life on Earth

    Aren’t we supposed to judge a person on their actions rather than their personality?
    I’ve read that some historical tyrants were really nice to meet in person. What respect would one show Vlad the Impaler?

  7. I have to admit I wish I respected the President too. I can’t think of one kind thing I could write about him. And it’s not good to have such disdain for someone who is the commander and chief…

  8. Back during the 2004 election campaign, I set myself the task of trying to write a post in my blog that made the strongest case I could for voting for Bush, using only arguments that I, a fairly committed Bush hater, honestly believed to be valid. It was a useful exercise, I think.

    Among other things, it helped me reflect on the reality that behind all the bad policies and maddening psychological defects that make him very much the worst possible choice to run the country, he doesn’t seem like that much of a bad guy. He’s obviously got some people skills and emotional intelligence, and probably wouldn’t be a bad guy to hang out with for a few minutes in the break room at work, or chat with dad-to-dad at Little League practice, or whatever.

    Considering that there’s a real human being behind the glorified/vilified image that his supporters and detractors build up in their minds, I guess it’s appropriate to recognize the limits of what someone like me (or, I assume, Ms. Taylor) means when we say that we “hate” him. Hate is, after all, a very strong word, with a lot of baggage.

    With all that said, though, I deeply and sincerely _hate_ many of the things that George Bush has done as president, and consider him the most profoundly ill-qualified person to hold that office during my lifetime. And I think it’s important not to lose site of that fact, either, when meta debates about what it means to “hate” the guy come up.

  9. Pingback: irony, pt. 2 « more than the sum of my parts

  10. Jo Ann, my sympathies on being in the same place as Scalia. He’s definitely on my list of High-Ranking People I Don’t Respect. And no, the president didn’t read a book about a goat; heck, he didn’t take time to read anything at all. (See my follow-up post.)

    Bruce, he really has done a lot a awful stuff, hasn’t he? [sigh] What we need is a time machine that will let us introduce W to Vlad the Impaler, and see how the two jolly boys get along…

    Cat, I agree that it isn’t good to have disdain for the president. I wish to goodness that I didn’t. But as long as he keeps earning our disdain so effectively, people like you and me have no choice.

    John, I agree completely with you. W is a good ol’ boy just like many other guys in the U.S. — a typical kind of man you might find in many places, but whom you should NOT find in the White House. He doesn’t belong there, he doesn’t have the skills to be there, and I only wish that someone with an ounce of common sense could have convinced him that he’d be way over his head. Now we’re all paying for his incompetence in a role that’s massively oversized for his skills and intellect.

Leave a Reply

