meat muffins

(How’s that for a subject line?)

I remain firm in my belief that cooking is therapeutic. Just ask my friend and sous chef, Jack.

I’ve had a long and stressful week, and yesterday I went to cook my weekly meal at church hopeful that making and serving the meal would, as it usually does, soothe my nerves and my soul.

It did.

But this week, I owed much of my enjoyment to the accident of not having sufficient loaf pans to hold all the meatloaf (10 loaves’ worth, to be exact, which can also be expressed as “two huge bowls full of more meatloaf than the average person cares to imagine”). What should we do? We began to make loaf shapes and put them in larger pans; but then inspiration struck. We would make meat muffins! We rounded up 5 pans, to hold 5 dozen muffins, and filled them to overflowing.

https://i0.wp.com/farm1.static.flickr.com/224/465097595_87d78ccf71_m.jpg

The results were fabulous: The meat muffins finished cooking in less time than a loaf; they were beautifully brown; and they looked, well, cute, like little meaty muppets. We wished we had a way to put little googly eyes on them. (They tasted really good, too.)

https://i0.wp.com/farm1.static.flickr.com/215/465097591_645157e492_m.jpg

The next time you’re making meatloaf (or vegetable loaf, or whatever variety of entree foodstuff you might normally make in a loaf pan), I recommend the muffin approach. It isn’t just food: It’s fun! πŸ˜€

9 responses to “meat muffins

  1. Strange, yet cool idea.

  2. I love meat AND muffins. There’s no way this can taste bad.

    Man, when I was religious toddler, I was Seventh Day Adventist and our cooking was all Vegetarian. Your church owns my church in terms of food preparation.

    Meat Muffin > Special K Loaf

  3. I had left over meat muffins for supper tonight with the cheesed cauliflower. Fabu. Pair it with a little Shiraz, and it’s not a meal. It’s an experience.

  4. Special K loaf?? Ewwwww.

    I do make a vegetarian loaf, too (black beans + pinto beans in place of beef and pork), but we didn’t have enough muffin pans to make veggie muffins. Maybe next time…

  5. once, I didn’t have the large round pan to bake my family’s secret recipe cake, so I used muffin pan and revolutionized the long family tradition! baking muffins is so much easier, faster, and they look sooo cute.

  6. Naughty Heather

    I love meat muffins – I like the flavors of meatloaf but I am INCREDIBLY against undercooked meat, and so I am not always trusting of the doneness of meatloaf in loaf form. Muffins, however, are crispy and brown and almost guaranteed to be done.

    Rachael Ray has a recipe for stuffing muffins that I tried, and now my family will only eat stuffing in muffin form.

    Long live the muffin! πŸ˜‰

  7. I make a similar dish using Stove Top. I add cheese and ground turkey to the mix held together with an egg and bake them in mini muffin pans. They’re great appetizers or nice bite-sized snacks. I like the idea of making meat muffins because you can place them in the center of the plate and add veggies or such around them to create an attractive meal like those at fancy restaurants.

  8. Euro, I haven’t made my chocolate cake as muffins/cupcakes for ages. I’ll have to do that next time someone asks for it.

    Hey — I wonder about oreo cheesecake in muffin pans? Hmmm…

    Heather, the stuffing muffins are a great idea! Another one to try. Regarding undercooked meat: I grew up with a mom who would tear off chunks of raw hamburger and eat them while she was cooking. I thought it was icky when I was a kid; now it positively turns my stomach to imagine. πŸ˜›

    Blu, your recipe sounds great! Another good new thing to try. πŸ™‚

  9. Inside/Outside

    Well, if I ordered raw ground beef at an upscale restaurant, it would be called “steak tartare,” and it would probably be quite pricey!

Leave a Reply

