that’s what I like to see

Courtesy of the fine folks at Gallup, a graph depicting a president who is totally tanking in the popularity and effectiveness departments:

https://i2.wp.com/media.gallup.com/poll/graphs/20071106_Bush_Approval_Chart_1rev.gif

Oooh, wait, this one’s even better!

https://i0.wp.com/media.gallup.com/poll/graphs/20071106_Bush_Approval_Chart_2rev.gif

Here’s Gallup’s bottom line on their poll results (bold mine):

President Bush has maintained a relatively high degree of support among members of his own party, but among the large group comprising the almost two-thirds of Americans who disapprove of his performance as president, attitudes are intensely negative. Half of all Americans, and 78% of those who disapprove of Bush’s performance as president, say they “strongly” disapprove.

I heard him on the radio yesterday talking about Pakistan, and I swear he sounded like a second-grader trying to imitate a grown-up. No words of more than two syllables, spoken in his squeaky, no-ending-consonants, I-skipped-the-Toastmasters-course-and anyway-I’m-confused-because-nobody-likes-me-any-more style.

Pardon me while I shake my head in disgust and say “I told you so…”

One response to “that’s what I like to see

  1. I recall how much my parents and their friends despised Nixon. I never understood their level of disgust. Unfortunately I do now. My hope for your children’s children is that they never have a reason to understand our disdain.

Leave a Reply

