axe appeal

https://i2.wp.com/xbox360media.ign.com/xbox360/image/article/792/792801/guitar-hero-iii-20070530022511639-000.jpgLadies and gentlemen, Guitar Hero has entered our building, and the house is rocking. The kids even let loose of the wireless guitar long enough for me to try Heart‘s classic “Barracuda.”

Too fun. 😀

3 responses to “axe appeal

  1. Okay, I played Guitar Hero, but I’m just not that impressed. I think maybe because…well, I don’t know why, but it just doesn’t seem like a game to me. It seems more like math.

  2. I don’t find it to be like math, but I also do NOT find it relaxing. It’s a stressful game, and having the audience boo you when you lose can be unpleasant. Plus, when I finish a song, I feel as though the world is spinning, after staring for 4 minutes at the constantly moving columns.

    On a side note, I wonder why some groups let the game use their own real version of their songs (Metallica, for example), and many others don’t? It seems as though using the actual recorded version of a song, rather than a remake, would be greatly to the musicians’ benefit and would probably sell them some songs on iTunes.

  3. For me, the truly comical thing is seeing the difference between musicians (i.e. people who could play a real guitar reasonably well in public) and regular non-musical folk playing. Last Fall, our church set up an inflatable big screen and a sound system outside the gate of a home football game, and watched the fun as random people walked up and started playing.

    I, being completely clueless with any kind of musical instrument in hand, looked like an absolute dork, missing all sorts of notes, but getting minor applause from the crowd when I managed to miss the non-musical “CLANK” sound every now and then. In contrast, my son and our music leader from church were both getting points for hundreds of notes played without error. This is when the tech people among us start doing stuff like unplugging the controllers. 😀 – Tim

Leave a Reply

