I despise Ralph Nader

https://i1.wp.com/cache.viewimages.com/xt/3222412.jpgThe word hate is awfully strong, and I’ve never met the man, so I’ve gone with despise. But ooooooh, how I despise him.

I hold Ralph Nader personally responsible for the 8 years of Bush atrocities and incompetencies that have been visited on the United States. OK, so I also hold responsible the people who voted for him — but mainly I blame the man himself, because he knew he couldn’t win in 2000 or 2004, he knew that his campaign would mainly pull votes from the Democratic candidate, and he ran anyway.

Frankly, his leaping into the race at this point immediately makes me wonder if the Republicans are paying him. Shades of conspiracy theory, I know … but still.

I can only hope that the people who helped Ralph Nader reelect Bush 4 years ago will have more sense this time. Hello? Have you liked how things have gone in the USA since you cast that pointless, tragic vote? Do you really want anti-abortion, pro-war John McCain (and some right-wing conservative wacko VP to be named late) running the country? No? Then for goodness sake, vote Democrat!

Here’s a great quote from The Christian Science Monitor:

“What’s the definition of insanity?” says Todd Gitlin, a political analyst at Columbia University in New York. “Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result?”

12 responses to “I despise Ralph Nader

  1. TDMT you’ll understand this better than most: I’d rather vote for Hillary than Nader.

  2. Frankly, his leaping into the race at this point immediately makes me wonder if the Republicans are paying him. Shades of conspiracy theory, I know … but still.

    Why conspiracy theory? they did in 2004.

  3. Are you suggesting he’s “Unsafe with Any Votes”? 😉 – Tim

  4. Amen, sister.

  5. Thud: Thanks for the link. I had no idea my random thought was for real — but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. Yeesh.

  6. Tim: Ahem. 😀 And yes, I am!

    Dragon: Wow! Most impressive. I hope enough people feel the way you and I (and the others who’ve commented) do…

  7. Just as in 2000… and we saw who we got then!!!

    A vote for Nader was a vote for Bush.

    And now:
    A vote for Nader is a vote for McCain!

    DON’T VOTE NADER!!!

    If ya’ like going to war in the wrong country for no apparent reason vote McCain.

    Uhhh…lemme see… terrorists from Saudi Arabia flew planes into buildings on the direction of another Saudi in Afghanistan…. soooo….OBVIOUSLY… we should invade Iraq.

    Yep! Lemme have some more of that logic…. Maybe Bush can run as Vice-President…. Is that allowed? Because he and his staff are real geniuses.

    Remember folks, the ONLY reason Bush got the White House was because of Nader. Thus Nader can be blamed for: The Iraq War, The economy, The price of oil, and possibly even 9-11.(one can only guess on that last one) McCain is just as nutty as Bush but smarter which makes him more dangerous.

  8. A vote for McCain is a vote for Kissinger.
    A vote for Clinton is a vote for Albright.
    A vote for Obama is a vote for Brezezinski.
    A vote for Nader is a vote for Nader.

    BTW, Al Gore won the election in Florida and could have fought on and been president. He GAVE the election to Bush.

  9. No, Abel, I’m sorry. A vote for Nader is a vote for McCain. A vote for Nader will help put a Republican in the White House — again. A vote for Nader is a wasted effort that does nothing but bolster an old man’s ego and lead our country further down the wrong path.

  10. But you do understand that Al Gore won Florida in 2000 right?

  11. I worked on the Nader 2000 campaign and I’ll tell you that I can’t say that there weren’t any democrats that disliked Gore enough to vote for Nader, but most, if not all of the people involved in the campaign were dedicated third party and/or non-partisan voters.

    Almost every one of the Democrats that flirted with voting for Nader (remember when they packed stadiums at Nader rallies?) in the end voted for Gore.

    Most Nader voters in 2000 (I can’t speak for 2004) were not potential Gore voters.

    BTW, I’m not sure that I will be voting for Nader this time. Besides the fact that he might not make it onto the ballot here, there are other candidates that I like, including Mike Gravel and especially Cynthia McKinney.

    Both Clinton and Obama have said that “no option is off that table” regarding Iran. If you vote for one of those two and he or she bombs civilian targets, the blood will be on your hands not mine.

Leave a Reply

