ISFJ

https://i1.wp.com/piratemonkeysinc.com/images/ISFJ.gifA recent post by a friend prompted me to reconfirm my Myers-Briggs personality profile — and, no surprise, I remain an ISFJ. Specifically, my profile looks like this:

  • very expressed introvert (78%)
  • distinctively expressed sensing personality (75%)
  • moderately expressed feeling personality (38%)
  • slightly expressed judging personality (22%)

A few bits of analysis from online regarding people with this personality type that I find particularly applicable to myself:

ISFJs are characterized above all by their desire to serve others, their “need to be needed.”

…They are not as outgoing and talkative as the Providers, except with close friends and relatives. With these they can chat tirelessly about the ups and downs in their lives, moving (like all the Guardians) from topic to topic as they talk over their everyday concerns. However, their shyness with strangers is often misjudged as stiffness, even coldness, when in truth these Protectors are warm-hearted and sympathetic, giving happily of themselves to those in need.

…Protectors are quite content to work alone; indeed, they may experience some discomfort when placed in positions of authority, and may try to do everything themselves rather than insist that others do their jobs.

While their work ethic is high on the ISFJ priority list, their families are the centers of their lives. ISFJs are extremely warm and demonstrative within the family circle–and often possessive of their loved ones, as well. … Needless to say, ISFJs take infinite trouble over meals, gifts, celebrations, etc., for their loved ones.

Like most Is, ISFJs have a few, close friends. They are extremely loyal to these, and are ready to provide emotional and practical support at a moment’s notice. (However, like most Fs they hate confrontation; if you get into a fight, don’t expect them to jump in after you. You can count on them, however, run and get the nearest authority figure.)

No wonder I’m so happy working at home by myself, interacting with coworkers primarily by email. (One of the areas where I disagree with the online analyses of ISFJs is their opinion that good career choices include medical professions and social work.)

4 responses to “ISFJ

  1. Seems to fit you to a tee. I just never had you pegged for an extrovert, given your scintillating personality and your apparent drive to be a performer.

  2. Darkwolf, I think you mean you didn’t have me pegged for an introvert. Yeah, the performer thing can make me seem extroverted — put me on a stage, and I’m right at home. But afterward, I’ll be desperate to go home and be with my family, where it’s quiet and I don’t have to interact with a lot of people. One of the most helpful things I ever read about introverts was the distinction that we lose energy when we’re with people and gain it when we’re alone — the opposite of extroverts. This is absolutely true of me. Whenever I have to go somewhere that requires me to interact with a crowd, particularly people I don’t know well, I’m invariably exhausted afterward. This is condition you’re undoubtedly familiar with, being married to an introvert who describes very similar reactions on her blog. 🙂

  3. Thankfully mine is still INFP. It was INFJ for a long time, so I’ve stopped judging and startted perceiving. Most INFPs tend to like Dumbledor (42%), Lupine 42%), and Sanpe (33%).

  4. As cuebel regularly reminds me, introverts can enjoy being with people, even enjoy being “in the spotlight.” The difference is that “I’s” recharge their batteries by being alone, whereas “E’s” recharge their personal batteries by being with others. Thus, an I and an E can be on stage together, both shining in front of hundreds of people; but afterwards, the I goes home, while the E seeks out a cast party or informal gathering.

Leave a Reply

