guilty pleasure

OK, I admit it: I love watching American Gladiators. A new season started last week, and I’m looking forward to my Monday night fixes.

This is just about the only TV show I watch on a regular basis. Mostly, the television is for me a vehicle for watching movies. But Gladiators is big, over-the-top, muscley fun — professional wrestling meets reality show meets hand-to-hand combat in a glitzy, highly produced format. Hulk Hogan! Ali’s daughter! Blood, sweat, and tears! Determined contestants giving their all in front of their cheering families!

I’ve figured out that one of the reasons I like the show is that the women compete in exactly the same events as the men. Even the Eliminator series of events at the end of each show is identical for both sexes, including extreme tests of both upper- and lower-body strength. Sure the female gladiators wear skimpy clothes, but hey, so do the guys.

No excuses: I love this show! 🙂

https://i2.wp.com/www.slybaldguys.com/serendipity/uploads/ag_about_gladiators.jpg

Leave a Reply

