Eagleburger: could Palin do the top job? “Of course not.”

Thursday, on NPR’s Talk of the Nation, former Secretary of State Lawrence Eagleburger (who has endorsed John McCain) was asked to make the case for McCain “on the basis of foreign and domestic policy credentials.” He did a great job of selling McCain — until he was asked whether Sarah Palin would be able to step into the role of president during a time of crisis.

His answer, as transcribed on Huffington Post:

“It is a very good question,” he said, pausing a few seconds, then adding with a chuckle: “I’m being facetious here. Look, of course not.”

Eagleburger explained: “I don’t think at the moment she is prepared to take over the reigns of the presidency. I can name for you any number of other vice presidents who were not particularly up to it either. So the question, I think, is can she learn and would she be tough enough under the circumstances if she were asked to become president, heaven forbid that that ever takes place?

“Give her some time in the office and I think the answer would be, she will be [pause] adequate. I can’t say that she would be a genius in the job. But I think she would be enough to get us through a four year… well I hope not… get us through whatever period of time was necessary. And I devoutly hope that it would never be tested.”

To listen to the interview, click here: NPR interview with Lawrence Eagleburger

2 responses to “Eagleburger: could Palin do the top job? “Of course not.”

  1. I bet that he didn’t think that Obama was qualified nor could “do the job” either.

  2. I think Obama’s presidency will be a great one! In a side note, I heard the 66 year old Sen. Mitch McConnell (R) of Kentucky called middle aged today. That makes me an you barely out of puberty. ;)=

Leave a Reply

